Today in the Legislature

Monday, January 14, 2013 - 03:43 PM

Constitutional Officers Take the Oath
Legislative leaders were on hand Monday afternoon to watch as the Board of Public Works along with Supreme Court Justices were sworn into office. Those who took the oath of office included Secretary of State Natalie Tennant, Treasurer John Perdue, Auditor Glen Gainer III, and Supreme Court Justice Robin Davis. Newly elected officials taking the office for the first time included Agricultural Commissioner Walt Helmick, Attorney General Patrick Morrisey, and Supreme Court Justice Allen Loughry. State Supreme Court Chief Justice Brent Benjamin administered the oaths.

Lawmakers in attendance included Senate President Jeffrey Kessler, Senate Minority Leader Mike Hall, Speaker of the House Richard Thompson, House Majority Leader Brent Boggs, and House Minority Leader Tim Armstead.

Wednesday, January 09, 2013 - 11:26 AM

81st Legislature Members Convene for Opening Day
Today marks the opening day of the first session of the 81st West Virginia Legislature. Newly elected members will be sworn in at noon in their respective chambers. Members of the House and Senate will elect presiding officers which will include the Speaker of the House, President of the Senate, the House and Senate Clerks, Head Door Keepers and the Sergeant at Arms.

At 1:30, senators and delegates will reconvene in the House Chamber for a joint assembly to receive the election returns for the Constitutional Officers.


The 1st Regular Session of the 81st Legislature convened on opening day to swear in the newly elected members of the Senate and House of Delegates. Members of the Senate were sworn in by the Honorable West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals Chief Justice Brent Benjamin. Members of the House were sworn in by the Honorable Justice Menis Ketchum II.

The House and Senate re-elected House Speaker Richard Thompson and Senate President Jeffrey Kessler, respectively.

Also elected to their official positions were Senate Clerk Joseph Minard replacing former Clerk Darrell Holmes, Senate Sergeant of Arms Howard Wellman and Senate Doorkeeper Anthony Gallo. The House of Delegates re-elected House Clerk Gregory Gray, and elected House Sergeant of Arms George McClaskie and House Doorkeeper Tom Hively.

Immediately following the swearing-in ceremonies, Senators and Delegates reconvened in the House Chamber for a joint assembly to receive the statewide election returns.

Both the West Virginia Senate and House of Delegates have adjourned until Wednesday, February 13, 2013.

Today in the Legislature is a daily synopsis of legislative activities maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.


Add to My AOL

Add to My Yahoo!

Add to Google

Recent Entries
Friday, 03/30/18 - 06:20 PM
›› Sharon Lewis Malcolm Sworn In to House of Delegates
Saturday, 03/10/18 - 10:01 PM
›› SB 152 Passes House Unanimously, Adjourns Sine Die
Saturday, 03/10/18 - 05:30 PM
›› S. B. 152, The Budget Bill Passed, Senate Adjourned Sine Die
Friday, 03/09/18 - 07:48 PM
›› Senate H. B. 4006
Friday, 03/09/18 - 12:30 PM
›› House Completes Bills

Back to Main
2018 - 104
2017 - 405
2016 - 140
2015 - 124
2014 - 119
2013 - 117
     November (1)
     August (1)
     June (1)
     May (1)
     April (37)
     March (43)
     February (29)
     January (4)
2012 - 113
2011 - 150
2010 - 178
2009 - 213
2008 - 174

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature ****