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OVERVIEW OF WEST VIRGINIA ALCOHOL TAXES

• West Virginia levies excise taxes on sales of beer and wine 
in the State
– Beer barrel tax—$5.50 per 31-gallon barrel
– Wine liter tax—$0.26406 per liter

• The State regulates taxes related to liquor/distilled spirits:
– Subject to price mark-up
– License fees vary by person/entity

• Sales of alcohol in the State are also subject to: 
– 6% state sales tax for sales of beer, wine and liquor
– 5% local tax for sales of wine and liquor only
– Local municipal sales taxes as applicable for sales of all alcohol

• Local sales taxes first levied in FY 2012
• 16 municipalities levy a local sales tax as of July 1, 2015
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COMPARATIVE TAX RATES
As of January 2015. All rates per gallon.
* Additional taxes or regulations may apply

Ohio

$0.18 Beer*

$0.32 Wine*

[1] Liquor*

Pennsylvania

$0.08 Beer*

[1] Wine*

[1] Liquor*

West Virginia

$0.18 Beer*

$1.00 Wine*

[1] Liquor* Virginia

$0.26 Beer*

$1.51 Wine*

[1] Liquor*

Kentucky

$0.08 Beer*

$0.50 Wine*

$1.92 Liquor*

Maryland

$0.09 Beer*

$0.40 Wine*

$1.50 Liquor*

3
[1] State regulation of sales Source: Federation of Tax Administrators



ALCOHOL EXCISE TAXES BY TYPE
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BEER BARREL EXCISE TAXES

• Original tax levied at $1.00 per 31-gallon barrel in 1933
– Raised to $1.375 per 31-gallon barrel in 1937
– Raised to $2.75 per 31-gallon barrel in 1947
– Raised to $5.50 per 31-gallon barrel in 1951.

• License fees and bonding requirements were added to the 
statute in 1951
– Class A licenses are required for establishments that sell 

nonintoxicating beer to be consumed at the site of sale
– Class B licenses are required for establishments that sell 

nonintoxicating beer to be consumed away from the site of sale
– Annual license fees range from $10 to $1,500 

• Nonintoxicating beer—natural cereal malt beverages (beer, 
lager, ale, etc.) with no caffeine infusion, at least 0.5% 
alcohol by volume not to exceed 9.6% alcohol by weight or 
12% by volume, whichever is greater (WV Code §11-16)

• Revenues are deposited into the General Revenue Fund
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BEER BARREL EXCISE AND SALES TAX REVENUES
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• Revenue sources for beer excise tax include:
• Sale of licenses for sale, distribution, manufacturing, bottling, 

processing and serving, and
• The barrel tax on each 31 gallons of beer manufactured

• Excise tax net revenue from beer barrel tax only decreased 
from $7.6 million in FY 2010 to $7.4 million in FY 2014
• Additional revenue gathered from state and local sales tax 

collections on beer
• State sales tax collection estimates from beer sales have 

experienced an increase of approximately 4.4% from FY 2010 to 
FY 2014 ($23 million to $24 million, respectively)

• Local sales tax collection estimates from beer sales have 
increased from $0.1 million to $0.2 million from FY 2012 to FY 
2014 



BEER EXCISE AND SALES TAX REVENUES

7*Excise tax net revenues include beer barrel tax collections less refunds only.
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WINE LITER EXCISE TAXES

• Wine liter tax is currently $0.26406 per liter

• Excise tax net revenues on volume of wine sold 
in West Virginia increased 16.6% from FY 2010 to 
FY 2014
– Change from $1.8 million to $2.1 million, respectively

• Wine liter tax revenues deposited to General 
Revenue Fund

• Wine license fees:
– First $200,000 to the Tax Commissioner’s Wine Tax 

Administration Fund

– Remaining funds deposited to ABCA Commissioner 
Wine License Special Fund
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WINE EXCISE AND SALES TAX REVENUES
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LIQUOR TAXES

• Wholesale and retail sales of liquor in the State have 
been regulated by the West Virginia Alcohol Beverage 
Control Administration (ABCA) since the early 1990s
– ABCA wholesales liquor to licensed retailers in West 

Virginia
– Retailers bid for licenses, which are issued in 10-year cycles

• Current bid system put in place in 1990
• Causes “peaks” in liquor license renewal revenue around FY 2000, 

FY 2010, etc.

– Licenses issued as either Class A or Class B
• Range from $10 to $2,500 annually

• Liquor revenues largely derived from licensing fees, 
mark-ups (established by the ABCA) and liquor profits

• Funds received by ABCA are deposited into an ABCA 
operating fund
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AGGREGATED ALCOHOL TAX REVENUES

• State sales tax revenue 
estimates on alcohol 
increased nearly 7%
between FY 2010 and FY 
2014
– The majority of these 

revenues are from beer 
sales

– Estimated state sales tax 
revenues on wine showed 
the largest increase during 
this time period, increasing 
25.7%
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STATE AND LOCAL ALCOHOL TAX COMPARISONS
• The Tax Policy Center compiled state and local alcoholic 

beverage tax revenue estimates by state
• State and local alcohol revenues in 2012 were:

– Nearly $129.8 million on average
– Highest in Texas, more than $937.6 million
– Lowest in Wyoming, approximately $1.7 million 
– $24.8 million in West Virginia

• Falls in the bottom quarter of state and local alcohol revenue

• Adjusting for population, state and local alcohol revenues in 
2012 were:
– $51.34 per capita on average
– Highest in Alaska, $720.51 per capita
– Lowest in Texas, $0.66 per capita
– $4.56 in West Virginia

• Falls in the bottom quarter of state and local alcohol revenue

15



STATE AND LOCAL ALCOHOL TAX COMPARISONS

• The Tax Policy Center compiled state and local 
alcoholic beverage tax revenue by state

• Among West Virginia and surrounding states:
– West Virginia had the lowest state and local alcohol 

revenues in 2012 but was above average in revenue 
per capita 

– Pennsylvania had the largest share of state and local 
alcohol revenues for the region (42.4%)

– Revenue per capita was largest in Kentucky ($26.98) 
and lowest in Virginia ($1.57)

– Average regional revenues:
• $139.3 million in total state and local alcoholic beverage 

revenues
• $8.74 in revenues per capita
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RELATED FUNDS AND ADDITIONAL 
TAXES
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DRUNK DRIVING PREVENTION FUND
• Established with the creation of the Commission on 

Drunk Driving through the West Virginia State Police

• Revenues for the Fund are derived from sales tax 
collections (6% state tax rate) on sales of wine and 
liquor purchased from retail liquor licensees by private 
clubs
– Annual net revenues for the Fund have averaged $1.3 

million from FY 2010 to FY 2014

• Fund revenues are disbursed to the State Police, local 
West Virginia city police departments and county 
sheriff departments to compensate overtime costs 
associated with respective Driving Under the Influence 
(DUI) prevention programs
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LOCAL 5% SALES TAX

• A local 5% sales tax is imposed on sales of wine 
and liquor in West Virginia

• Collections received are redistributed quarterly to 
counties and municipalities based on location of 
sale

• Local sales tax collections for 5% additional tax on 
sale of wine and liquor increased from $7.8 
million to $8.9 million from FY 2010 to FY 2014
– An increase of approximately 13%

– Local sales tax collections on sales of wine and liquor 
in the State were approximately $8.3 million on 
average from FY 2010 to FY 2014
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SIN TAX BURDENS AND STATE REVENUE
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SIN TAX BURDENS AND STATE REVENUE
• Governing magazine considered FY 2014 state excise tax collections—

specifically revenue from alcohol, gambling (casinos and racinos), tobacco 
products and video gaming—to measure which states had the largest 
dependency on sin taxes
1. Rhode Island (15.9% tax revenue)

• Largest portion of sin taxes attributed to gambling revenues
• Tobacco revenues second largest

2. Nevada (14.8% tax revenue)
• Largest portion of sin taxes attributed to gambling revenues
• No state income tax; likely aids in dependence on sin taxes

3. West Virginia (11.5% tax revenue)
• Largest portion of sin taxes attributed to gambling revenues 

4. New Hampshire (9.9% tax revenue)
• Largest portion of sin taxes attributed to revenue from tobacco products 
• No state sales or income tax; likely aids in dependence on sin taxes

5. Delaware (9.4% tax revenue)
• Largest portion of sin taxes attributed to both tobacco product and gambling revenues
• No state sales tax; likely aids in dependence on sin taxes

• Nationally, state sin taxes account for approximately 3.8% of state tax 
revenues

21Source: http://www.governing.com/topics/finance/gov-sin-tax-states-dependency.html

http://www.governing.com/topics/finance/gov-sin-tax-states-dependency.html


TOBACCO PRODUCT EXCISE TAX 
REVENUES
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TOBACCO PRODUCT EXCISE TAX REVENUES
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*Excise tax net revenues include all tobacco product excise tax collections less refunds.



Questions?
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Elizabeth A. Pardue | Tax Analyst II | 304-558-0614 | Elizabeth.A.Pardue@wv.gov
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