West Virginia Legislature Forest Management Review Commission

Senate Members

Senator Dave Sypolt, Co-Chair Senator Stephen Baldwin Senator Robert Karnes Senator Mark Maynard Senator Richard Oieda

House Members

Delegate John Overington, Co-Chair Delegate Allen Evans Delegate Bill Hartman Delegate Dana Lynch Delegate Roger Romine

Citizen Members

Mr. Mark Haddix Mr. Stephen Harp Mr. Tom Plaugher Mr. Harry Vance

The West Virginia Legislature's Forest Management Review Commission, having been appointed pursuant to Article 24, Chapter 5 of the Code of West Virginia, met on several occasions during the 2018-2019 Legislative Interim period to receive testimony and information to accomplish the duties and responsibilities as established by code.

The Forest Management Review Commission invited the following individual to appear before the committee to offer their expertise and testimony:

Director Barry Cook, West Virginia Division of Forestry

Director Cook appeared before the commission on several occasions to discuss recent tariffs placed on imported and exported lumber, the lack of first responder status of wildland firefighters, overall wildland fire preparedness, and worker compensation challenges in the logging and forestry industry.

The commission considered the following legislation and moved to report the bill to the Joint Committee on Government and Finance with the recommendation that it be introduced in both the House of Delegates and Senate during the 2019 Regular Session:

H.B./S. B. **** - Relating to Division of Forestry employees' eligibility for first responder survivor benefits in the event of a fatality while conducting wildland firefighting operations; and

H.C.R./S.C.R. ** - Urging Congress to amend Title 23, United States Code, to permit the State of West Virginia to provide exceptions to the maximum gross vehicle weight that will allow the operation of certain vehicles, including tri-axle dump trucks, for the hauling of timber on Interstate Highways in West Virginia.

Respectfully submitted,

Senator Dave Sypolt, Co-Chairman

Delegate John Overington, Co-Chairman

