West Virginia Legislature Forest Management Review Commission

Senate Members

Senator Dave Sypolt, Co-Chair Senator Bob Beach Senator Mike Caputo Senator Bill Hamilton Senator Rupie Phillips

House Members

Delegate John Paul Hott, Co-Chair Delegate Adam Burkhammer Delegate Don Forsht Delegate Mike Honaker Delegate Cody Thompson

Citizen Members

Mr. Mark Haddix Mr. Stephen Harp Mr. Tom Plaugher Ms. LaDeena Teets Mr. Thomas Haws Mr. Robert Williams Mr. Harry Vance

The West Virginia Legislature's Forest Management Review Commission, having been appointed pursuant to Article 24, Chapter 5 of the Code of West Virginia, met on several occasions during the 2021-2022 Legislative Interim period to receive testimony and information to accomplish the duties and responsibilities as established by code.

The Forest Management Review Commission invited the following individuals to appear before the committee to offer their expertise and testimony:

Mr. Charles Cover, Director, West Virginia Division of Forestry

Director Cover appeared before the commission on multiple occasions to provide an overview of the Division of Forestry and the current status of various project within.

Mr. Eric Carlson, West Virginia Forestry Association

Mr. Carlson appeared before the commission on multiple occasions and presented information to the commission including an update on the lumber and forestry industry from the viewpoint of the stakeholders.

Mr. Matt Irby, Commissioner, West Virginia State Tax Department

Commissioner Irby appeared before the commission to provide details on the taxes and state revenue of managed timberland.

Mr. Todd Lotter, Board Member, West Virginia Board of Registration for Foresters

Ms. Cinda Francis, Former Member, West Virginia Board of Registration for Foresters

Mr. Jeff Kochenderfer, Division Chair, West Virginia Chapter of the Society of American Foresters

Mr. Darrell W. Donahue, PhD, CQE, Professor, Dean and Director, Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resource and Design

These individuals appeared before the commission to present information regarding House Bill 3072, Sunsetting the Board of Forestry (2021).

Mr. Keith Krantz, Wildlife Biologist III and Supervisor of Game Management, West Virginia Division of Natural Resources

Ms. Linda Ordiway, Wildlife Biologist II, West Virginia Division of Natural Resources

Mr. Krantz and Ms. Ordiwary appeared before the commission to present information on forest development activities and associated projects.

Upon motion and adopted by the commission, the Forest Management Review Commission formally recommends to the full legislature reinstating the budget line item providing funding for the Appalachian Hardwood Research Center.

For additional information or copies of documentation provided by the invited individuals, please contact commission staff.

Respectfully submitted,

Senator Dave Sypolt, Co-Chairman

Delegate John Paul Hott, Co-Chairman