HB106 HFA DUKE #2 8-4         REVISED

Delegate Duke moves to amend the bill by striking everything after the enacting clause and insert in lieu thereof the following, to read as follows:

    That §1-2-2 and §1-2-2b of the Code of West Virginia, 1931, as amended, be amended and reenacted, all to read as follows:


§1-2-2. Apportionment of membership of House of Delegates.

    (a) As used in this section “County” means the territory comprising a county of this state as it existed on January 1, 2010, notwithstanding any boundary changes made subsequent thereto; 

    (b) The House of Delegates is composed of one hundred members elected from the delegate district described in this subsection. The First Delegate District is entitled to one hundred delegates and consists of:

Hancock County

Brooke County

Ohio County

Marshall County

Wetzel County

Tyler County

Pleasants County

Ritchie County

Wood County

Wirt County

Jackson County

Roane County

Kanawha County

Putnam County

Mason County

Cabell County

Wayne County

Lincoln County

Boone County

Logan County

Mingo County

McDowell County

Wyoming County

Mercer County

Raleigh County

Summers County

Monroe County

Greenbrier County

Pocahontas County

Webster County

Nicholas County

Fayette County

Clay County

Calhoun County

Gilmer County

Doddridge County

Lewis County

Braxton County

Upshur County

Randolph County

Barbour County

Harrison County

Taylor County

Marion County

Monongalia County

Preston County

Tucker County

Grant County

Pendleton County

Hardy County

Mineral County

Hampshire County

Morgan County

Berkeley County

Jefferson County

    (c) Regardless of the changes in delegate district boundaries made by the provisions of subsection (b) of this section, the delegates elected at the general election held in the year 2010 continue to hold their offices as members of the House of Delegates for the term, and as representatives of the county or delegate district, for which each was elected. Any appointment made to fill a vacancy in the office of a member of the House of Delegates shall be made for the remainder of the term, and as representative of the county or delegate district, for which the vacating delegate was elected or appointed.

§1-2-2b. Precinct boundary changes.

    If an election precinct of this state includes territory contained in more than one senatorial or delegate district, as such senatorial districts are established by section one of this article and as such delegate districts are established by section two of this article, the county commission of the county in which the precinct is located shall, prior to March 15, 2002 January 21, 2012, alter the boundary lines of its election precincts so that no precinct contains territory included in more than one senatorial or delegate district.