HB2359 S JUD AM

Graham 4841

 

The Committee on the Judiciary moved to amend the bill by striking out everything after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:


That the Code of West Virginia, 1931, as amended, be amended by adding thereto a new section, designated 30-3-18; that 30-14-12 be amended and reenacted; and that said code be amended by adding thereto a new section, designated 30-14-16, all to read as follows:

ARTICLE 3. WEST VIRGINIA MEDICAL PRACTICE ACT.

30-3-18. Combining staff functions with West Virginia Board of Osteopathic Medicine.


The West Virginia Board of Medicine may employ investigators, attorneys, clerks and administrative staff in collaboration with the West Virginia Board of Osteopathic Medicine to share duties and functions between the two boards when it may be efficient and practical for the functioning of the boards. Any sharing of staff or staff resources shall be documented and performed pursuant to the provisions of section nineteen, article one of this chapter.

ARTICLE 14. OSTEOPATHIC PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS.

30-14-16. Combining staff functions with West Virginia Board of Medicine.


The West Virginia Board of Osteopathic Medicine may employ investigators, attorneys, clerks and administrative staff in collaboration with the West Virginia Board of Medicine to share duties and functions between the two boards when it may be efficient and practical for the functioning of the boards. Any sharing of staff or staff resources shall be documented and performed pursuant to the provisions of section nineteen, article one of this chapter.

30-14-12. Offenses; penalties.


(a) Each of the following acts shall constitute constitutes a misdemeanor, punishable upon conviction by a fine of not less than $1,000 nor more than $10,000:

(a) The practice or attempting to practice as an osteopathic physician and surgeon without a license or permit;

(b) (1) The obtaining of or an attempt to obtain a license or permit to practice in the profession for money or any other thing of value, by fraudulent misrepresentation;

(c) (2) The making of any willfully false oath or affirmation whenever an oath or affirmation is required by this article; and

(d) (3) Advertising, practicing or attempting to practice under a name other than one's own.

(b) Any person who practices or attempts to practice osteopathic medicine without a license or permit is guilty of a felony and, upon conviction, shall be fined not more than $10,000, or imprisoned in a correctional facility for not less than one year nor more than five years, or both fined and imprisoned.


 

Adopted

Rejected