

West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources Bureau for Children and Families Division of Early Care and Education

### Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) 10/1/2019-09/30/2020 ANNUAL CHILD CARE REPORT

### Introduction:

Quality child care can be achieved with consistent, basic health and safety practices in place. As in years past, West Virginia strives to maintain basic health and safety standards in programs that care for children age six weeks through age 12, or through age 18 if the child has a special need.

West Virginia Code requires that child care programs be either licensed or certified, depending on size. During FFY-2019, there were 1,425 child care providers throughout the state with a potential to serve 41,845 children age six weeks through age 12. Parents can choose from a small family child care home to a large child care center to meet the individual needs of their child(ren) and family.

This document serves as the annual report regarding licensed child care centers to meet the requirements of W. Va. Code §49-2-123 to be sent to the Governor and the Legislative Oversight Commission on Health and Human Resources Accountability. The report covers the FFY-2020 (October 1, 2019, through September 30, 2020). The data reflects information regarding all child care provider types opened or closed during the FFY as can best be determined by the DAY 5230 – Provider Annual Report, a report generated by the Family and Child Tracking System (FACTS), hand tallied monthly reports, and the FACTS system in general.

# **Provider Types:**

A **Family Child Care Home** is home-based care provided for a portion of the day in a private family home for compensation. The home must be inhabited by the family/individual that is providing care, and the provider's hours of operation may not exceed 18 hours in a 24-hour period. State law requires that care provided in a family child care home for 4-6 children must be regulated. West Virginia Code allows for exemption from state regulatory requirements to **Informal Family Child Care** providers and **Relative Family Child Care** providers, unless the family child care provider chooses to receive subsidy payments through the child care certificate system. An Informal Family Child Care provider cares for fewer than four children and a Relative Family Child Care provider cares for children related to them only.

A **Family Child Care Facility** provides care for 7-12 children. The Family Child Care Facility may care for a maximum of 12 children, including children residing in the home under the age of six, with no more than four children under the age of 24 months.

Facility care may be in the operator's home or in a facility not inhabited by the provider.

A **Child Care Center** serves 13 or more children, four or more hours per day, and is open for more than 30 days per year per child. Exceptions to this requirement include programs offering sessions not exceeding four hours per day per child such as: kindergarten through grade 12 education programs, West Virginia Pre-K classrooms operated by a county board of education in a public-school setting, and any other kindergartens, preschools or school-age programs with sessions not exceeding four hours per day per child. In addition, an individual or facility that offers occasional care of children for brief periods such as the attendance of a religious service or engaging in recreational activities is exempt from licensure. Hospitals do not meet the definition of a child care center. Some Head Start programs require licensure because they meet the definition of a child care center.

**Out of School Time** programs offer activities to school children before or after school, or both, on school holidays, when school is closed because of an emergency, and on school calendar days set aside for teacher activities.

# **COVID-19 Pandemic:**

As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, child care was greatly affected. Beginning March 24, 2020, and through the reporting period, any child care provider in West Virginia was required to register their program as a Critical Care site to serve only children of essential employees. In addition, these Critical Care sites were required to implement specific requirements set forth by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention for child care providers.

These registered Critical Care sites were able to begin enrolling children of essential workers on March 27, 2020. Enrollment for children of nonessential workers commenced April 30, 2020, when West Virginia began re-opening through the "Safer at Home" Executive Order following the "Safe at Home" Executive Order. Child care experienced a steady increase of program openings from March 1, 2020, through the end of the reporting period with 84 percent of programs in operation September 30, 2020. On March 1, 2020, there were 1,379 open child care providers compared to 1,162 at the end of the reporting period.

Virtual learning did not have a significant impact on child care in West Virginia. Capacity expansion adjustments assisted providers with accommodating virtual learning schedules for school age children without effect.

# Annual Child Care Statistics:

- Total Statewide # of Licensed and Certified Programs 1,425
  - Total # of Licensed Programs 648
    - Child Care Centers 324
    - Out of School Time Programs 94
    - Head Start 90
    - Family Child Care Facilities 140

### • Total # of Certified Programs – 777

- Family Child Care Homes 753
- Informal Family Child Care Homes 3
- Relative Family Child Care Homes 21

# • Total Enrollment Capacity for Children Statewide – 41,845

- Total # of Approved New Provider Licenses/Certificates Statewide 127
  - Licensed Child Care Programs 25
  - Certified Child Care Programs 102
- Total # of Denied Applications for Licensure/Certification to New Providers Statewide – 9
  - Licensed Child Care Programs 5
  - Certified Child Care Programs 4
- Total # of Revoked Licenses/Certificates to Current Child Care Providers Statewide - 45
  - $\circ$  Child Care Centers 0
  - $\circ$  Out of School Time Programs 0
  - $\circ$  Head Start 0
  - Family Child Care Facilities -0
  - Family Child Care Homes 39
  - Informal Family Child Care Homes and Relative Family Child Care Homes 6

**PLEASE NOTE:** A license or certificate may be revoked due to an unwillingness or inability to comply with laws and regulations set forth in W. Va. Code §49-2-115. Family Child Care Homes may see their certificate suspended due to an Institutional Investigative Unit (IIU) investigation. If IIU finds no substantiation of abuse or neglect, the certificate is reinstated.

- Total # of Licensed Programs Receiving Negative Action that Affected the Status of the License (moved the license from regular to provisional status) Statewide 18
- Total # of Negative Actions that Resulted in Court Injunctions Statewide 0
- Total # of Serious Occurrences in Licensed/Certified Programs Statewide 129 (42 injuries; 58 communicable disease of which, 54 were related to COVID-19; 9 serious violations; 20 reports of suspected abuse/neglect)
  - $\circ$  Licensed Programs 118
    - Broken bone (foot, elbow, arm, shoulder), concussion/head injuries, seizure, stiches to face/mouth, burn, heat exhaustion, four substantiated

instances of abuse/neglect along with numerous other investigations of suspected abuse/neglect and 47 cases of communicable disease.

- $\circ$  Certified Programs 11
  - 11 cases of communicable disease related to COVID-19
- Total # of Fatalities in Licensed/Certified Programs Statewide 0
  - $\circ$  Licensed Programs 0
  - $\circ$  Certified Programs 0