‹ Back  |  print page Print

§16-32-4. Asbestos management planner's license required.

(a) It is unlawful for an individual who does not possess a valid asbestos management planner's license to design a building's or facility's asbestos management plan.

(b) To qualify for an asbestos management planner's license, an applicant shall:

(1) Satisfactorily complete a United States environmental protection agency approved training course for asbestos management planners;

(2) Possess a valid asbestos inspector's license;

(3) Demonstrate to the satisfaction of the director that the applicant is familiar with and capable of complying fully with all applicable requirements, procedures and standards of the United States environmental protection agency, the United States occupational safety and health administration and the state departments of health and human resources and commerce, labor and environmental resources covering any part of an asbestos abatement project; and

(4) Meet the requirements otherwise set forth by the director.

(c) Applicants for an asbestos management planner's license shall submit an application and a certificate that shows satisfactory completion of the United States environmental protection agency training course for asbestos management planners to the division and shall pay the applicable fee to the division. The director may deny a license if there has been a failure to comply with the application procedures or if the applicant fails to satisfy the application criteria. Written notice of such denial and an opportunity for reapplication shall be afforded to all applicants.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature ***