SENATE
HOUSE
JOINT
BILL STATUS
STATE LAW
REPORTS
EDUCATIONAL
CONTACT
home
home

WEST VIRGINIA CODE

‹ Back  |  print page Print

CHAPTER 16. PUBLIC HEALTH.

ARTICLE 5C. NURSING HOMES.

§16-5C-7. Cost disclosure; surety for resident funds.

(a)  Each nursing home shall disclose in writing to all residents at the time of admission a complete and accurate list of all costs which may be incurred by them; and shall notify the residents 30 days in advance of changes in costs. The nursing home shall make available copies of the list in the nursing home’s business office for inspection. Residents may not be liable for any cost not so disclosed.

(b)  If the nursing home handles any money for residents within the facility, the licensee or his or her authorized representative shall either: (1) Give a bond; or (2) obtain and maintain commercial insurance with a company licensed in this state in an amount consistent with this subsection and with the surety as the secretary shall approve. The bond or insurance shall be upon condition that the licensee shall hold separately and in trust all residents" funds deposited with the licensee; shall administer the funds on behalf of the resident in the manner directed by the depositor; shall render a true and complete account to the depositor and the secretary when requested, and at least quarterly to the resident; and upon termination of the deposit, shall account for all funds received, expended, and held on hand. The licensee shall file a bond or obtain insurance in a sum at least 1.25 times the average amount of funds deposited with the nursing home during the nursing home’s previous fiscal year.

This insurance policy shall specifically designate the resident as the beneficiary or payee reimbursement of lost funds. Regardless of the type of coverage established by the facility, the facility shall reimburse, within 30 days, the resident for any losses directly and seek reimbursement through the bond or insurance itself. Whenever the secretary determines that the amount of any bond or insurance required pursuant to this subsection is insufficient to adequately protect the money of residents which is being handled, or whenever the amount of any such bond or insurance is impaired by any recovery against the bond or insurance, the secretary may require the licensee to file an additional bond or insurance in such amount as necessary to adequately protect the money of residents being handled.

The provisions of this subsection do not apply if the licensee handles less than $35 per resident per month in the aggregate. Nursing homes certified to accept payment by Medicare and Medicaid must meet the requirements for surety bonds as listed in the applicable federal regulations.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2020 West Virginia Legislature **