‹ Back  |  print page Print

§16-9-2. Throwing or releasing dead animals or offensive substances into waters used for domestic purposes; penalties; jurisdiction; failure to bury or destroy offensive substances after conviction; successive offenses.

Any person who knowingly and willfully throws, causes to be thrown or releases any dead animal, carcass, or part thereof, garbage, sink or shower waste, organic substance, human or animal excrement, contents of privy vault, septic tank, cesspool or the effluent from any cesspool or nauseous or offensive or poisonous substances into any well, cistern, spring, brook, pond, stream or other body of water which is used for domestic purposes, is guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $25 nor more than $200. None of the provisions contained in this section shall apply to those commercial or industrial wastes which are subject to the regulatory control of the West Virginia Division of Environmental Protection.

Upon conviction of any such offense, the person convicted shall, within twenty-four hours after such conviction, remove and bury or cause to be buried at least three feet under the ground or destroy or cause to be destroyed as otherwise directed by the commissioner of the bureau of public health or his or her duly authorized representative any of such offensive materials which the person so convicted has thrown, caused to be thrown, released or knowingly permitted to remain in water used for domestic purposes, contrary to the provisions of this section, and his or her failure or refusal to do so is a misdemeanor and, a second violation of the provisions of this section. The continued failure or refusal of such convicted person to so bury or destroy such offensive materials is a separate, distinct and additional offense for each successive twenty-four hour period of such failure or refusal. Any person convicted of any offense described in this paragraph shall be fined not less than $25 nor more than $200, or imprisoned in the county jail not more than ninety days, or both fined and imprisoned.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature **