SENATE
HOUSE
JOINT
BILL STATUS
WV CODE
REPORTS
EDUCATIONAL
CONTACT
home
home

WEST VIRGINIA CODE

‹ Back  |  print page Print

§16-9F-3. Penalties.

(a) Any person who knowingly violates the provisions of this article with a total quantity of less than two cartons of cigarettes shall, for the first offense, be punished by a civil penalty of no more than $1,000, and for a second or subsequent offense involving a total quantity of less than two cartons of cigarettes shall be punished by a civil penalty of no more than $5,000 and the revocation for a period of six months of any business held by the person.

(b) Any person who knowingly violates the provisions of this article with a total quantity of two or more cartons of cigarettes shall, for the first offense, be punished by a civil penalty of no more than $2,000, and for a second or subsequent offense involving a total quantity of two or more cartons of cigarettes shall be punished by a civil penalty of no more than $50,000 and the revocation for a period of one year of any business registration certificate held by the person.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature **