‹ Back  |  print page Print

§16-6-4. Application for inspection of hotel or restaurant; temporary permit; certificate of inspection; fee.

Every person, firm or corporation proposing to operate a hotel or restaurant shall apply to the director of health for an inspection and certificate thereof, and said inspector shall inspect the premises described in such application as soon thereafter as may be practicable; but if it be impracticable to do so within ten days after receiving such application, said director may issue to such applicant a temporary permit which shall be valid until a regular inspection is made. Only one certificate or permit shall be issued where a hotel and restaurant are combined and operated in the same building and under the same management. Each certificate or permit shall expire on June 30 next following its issuance, and no hotel or restaurant shall be maintained and operated in this state without the certificate of inspection thereof as herein prescribed, which certificate shall be posted in the main public room of such hotel or restaurant, and shall show the date of each inspection and the notations relating thereto by the director of health. No such certificate shall be transferable. The fee for such inspection and certificate or permit shall be, for a hotel, $2.25 additional for each bedroom in excess of seven; and for a restaurant, $2.25 additional for each five chairs or stools, or spaces where persons are fed, in excess of ten, but no fee shall exceed $10. Such director shall, on the first of each month, pay into the State Treasury all fees collected for inspections during the preceding month. Every certificate of inspection or permit under this article shall be made and issued in duplicate.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2017 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature ***