SENATE
HOUSE
JOINT
BILL STATUS
STATE LAW
REPORTS
EDUCATIONAL
CONTACT
home
home

WEST VIRGINIA CODE

‹ Back  |  print page Print

CHAPTER 61. CRIMES AND THEIR PUNISHMENT.

ARTICLE 3B. TRESPASS.

§61-3B-2. Trespass in structure or conveyance.

(a) Any person who knowingly enters in, upon, or under a structure or conveyance without being authorized, licensed, or invited, or having been authorized, licensed, or invited is requested to depart by the owner, tenant, or the agent of the owner or tenant, and refuses to do so, is guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than $100.

(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) of this section, any person who, without permission, knowingly and willfully enters a structure which has a clear posting that the structure has been condemned by any municipal or county government as unfit for human habitation or use, is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than $100, or confined in jail not more than six months, or both fined and confined: Provided, That for any first violation of this subsection offense of trespass on condemned property, a court may substitute community service or pretrial diversion in lieu of a fine or confinement for trespassing on condemned property.

(c) If the offender is armed with a firearm or other dangerous weapon while in the structure or conveyance, with the intent to do bodily injury to a human being in the structure or conveyance at the time the offender knowingly trespasses, the offender, notwithstanding the provisions of §61-7-1 of this code, is guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $500, or be confined in jail for not more than one year, or both fined and confined.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the 2020 Regular Session
The West Virginia Code Online is an unofficial copy of the annotated WV Code, provided as a convenience. It has NOT been edited for publication, and is not in any way official or authoritative.
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2022 West Virginia Legislature *