SENATE
HOUSE
JOINT
BILL STATUS
STATE LAW
REPORTS
EDUCATIONAL
CONTACT
home
home

Judith A. Herndon Fellowship

Undergraduates are selected to participate in the 60-day session as Herndon Fellows and are assigned to assist a sole legislator from either the Senate of the House of Delegates.

The interns are required to perform research and various staff functions. Among other job-related responsibilities, participants are introduced to and develop an understanding of the politics of legislation, legislative research, bill drafting, the role and function of committees and the executive-legislative liaison.


DETAILS & ELIGIBILITY

Number of positions:10

APPLICATION

Herndon Fellowship Application


LEGISLATIVE CONTACT

Casey Long/Adair Burgess-Sankoff
West Virginia State Senate
Legislative Internship Committee
Building 1, Room 227M
State Capitol Complex
Charleston, West Virginia 25305
phone: (304) 357-7952
casey.long@wvsenate.gov


CAMPUS CONTACTS

Alderson Broaddus University
Kari L. Sisk, Assistant Professor of Psychology and Dean of College of Humanities and Social Sciences
maxwellkl@ab.edu
(304)457-6275
101 College Hill Drive Philippi, WV 26416


Bethany College
Kayce Mobley, Assistant Professor of Political Science and Chair of Department of History & Political Science
kmobley@bethanywv.edu
(304)829-7806
31 E Campus Dr Bethany, WV 26032


Bluefield State College
Dr. Colin Cavell, Associate Professor of Political Science
ccavell@bluefieldstate.edu
(304)327-4034
219 Rock St. Basic Science Building- B120 Bluefield, WV 24701


Blue Ridge Community and Technical College
Dr. Holley Ralston, Instructor and Social Sciences Program Coordinator
Hralston@blueridgectc.edu
13650 Apple Harvest Dr.
Martinsburg, WV 25403
(304)260-4380 Ext. 2322


University of Charleston
Kara Fisher, PhD
karafisher@ucwv.edu
(304) 357-4916


Concord University
Dr. Sally Campbell
sjhoward@concord.edu
(304)384-5149
Marsh Hall, Room A116 Concord University Athens, WV 24712-1000


Davis & Elkins College
David Turner, Chair Division of Humanities
turnerd@dewv.edu
(304)637-1294
100 Campus Drive Elkins, WV 26241


Fairmont State University
Jeri Kirby
jkirby2@fairmontstate.edu
(304)367-4676
110 Hardway Hall Fairmont, WV 26554


Glenville State College
Dr. Marisha Lecea, Assistant Professor of Political Science
Marisha.lecea@glenville.edu
(304)462-6288
235 Louis Bennett Hall Glenville, WV 26351


Marshall University
Dr. Mary Beth Beller
beller@marshall.edu
(304)696-2763
Department of Political Science, Smith Hall
738 Marshall University One John Marshall Drive Huntington, WV 25755


Ohio Valley University
Wes Crum, Dean of Faculty, School of Behavioral Science
(304)865-6171
1 Campus View Drive Vienna, WV 26105


Potomac State College of WVU
Cassandra Pritts
Cassandra.pritts@mail.wvu.edu
(304)788-7082
101 Fort Ave Keyser, WV 26726

Nicklaus Goff
Nicklaus.goff@mail.wvu.edu
(304)788-6918
101 Fort Ave Keyser, WV 26726


Shepherd University
Stephanie A. Slocum-Schaffer, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Political Science, Global Studies & Geography
Co-Coordinator, Gender and Women's Studies sslocums@shepherd.edu


West Liberty University
Dr. Keith Bell, Interim Department Chair
Keith.bell@westliberty.edu
(304)336-8376
101 Faculty Dr Wheeling, WV 26003


West Virginia State University
Tom Bennett
Tbennett3@wvstate.edu
(304)766-3112
103 Ferrell Hall PO Box 399 Institute, WV 25112


West Virginia University
Dr. Jason MacDonald
Jason.macdonald@mail.wvu.edu
(304)293-9665
Room 315D, Woodburn Hall Morgantown, WV 26506


West Virginia University of Parkersburg
Chad Crumbaker
Provost
Executive Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs
Chief Academic and Student Affairs Officer
(304)424-8242
300 Campus Drive Room 1211 Parkersburg, WV 26104


West Virginia Institute of Technology
Mr. Thomas McGraw, Chair
Department of Social Sciences and Public Administration
thomas.mcgraw@mail.wvu.edu



West Virginia Wesleyan College
Dr. Robert Rupp
Rupp_r@wvwc.edu
(304)473-8561
59 College Avenue Buckhannon, WV 26201


Wheeling University
John L'Ecuyer, Coordinator, Career Services
jlecuyer@wju.edu
(304)243-8163
316 Washington Ave Wheeling, WV 26003





LINKS

Walter Rollins Scholars & Robert W. Burk Jr. Interns
Judith A. Herndon Fellowship
Frasure-Singleton Internship
Legislative Information Journalism Internship
Internship Introduction


 
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2020 West Virginia Legislature *