Introduced Version House Resolution 24 History

   |  Email


(By Delegates Skaff, McCuskey, E. Nelson, Raines, Guthrie, Hunt, Wells, Poore, Lane, Walters, Armstead, Ambler, Anderson, Andes, Azinger, Barill, Barrett, Boggs, Border, Butler, Campbell, Canterbury, Caputo, Cooper, Cowles, Craig, Diserio, Eldridge, Ellington, Espinosa, A. Evans, D. Evans, Faircloth, Ferns, Ferro, Fleischauer, Folk, Frich, Gearheart, Hamilton, Hamrick, Hartman, Householder, Howell, Ireland, Jones, Lawrence, Lynch, Manchin, Manypenny, Marcum, Marshall, Miley, Moore, Morgan, Moye, O’Neal, Overington, Pasdon, Paxton, Perdue, Perry, Pethtel, R. Phillips, Pino, M. Poling, Reynolds, Rowan, Shott, Sobonya, Sponaugle, Staggers, Stephens, Storch, Stowers, Sumner, Swartzmiller, Walker, White, Williams and Young)




Designating March 19, 2013, as “West Virginia State University Day”.

    Whereas, West Virginia State University was founded under the provisions of the Second Morrill Act of 1890 as the West Virginia Colored Institute, one of seventeen land-grant institutions authorized by Congress and designated by the states; and

    Whereas, In 1927, under the leadership of President John W. Davis, through the expansion of academic programs and the construction of new buildings, the Institution was accredited by the North Central Association and holds the longest continuous accreditation of any college or university in West Virginia; and

    Whereas, In 1929, the Institution became known as West Virginia State College and over the next decades, West Virginia State College was recognized as one of the leading public institutions of higher education for African-Americans; and

    Whereas, In 1954, the United States Supreme Court gave its historic decision outlawing school segregation and West Virginia State College rapidly transitioned to an integrated institution. The University now serves a predominantly white, nontraditional, aged, commuter population; and

    Whereas, In 2004, the West Virginia Legislature approved the transition to University status; and

    Whereas, West Virginia State University now offers seventy-two academic program options leading to twenty-one baccalaureate and four master’s degrees; and

    Whereas, West Virginia State University is actively working with other state institutions of higher education to create additional pathways for degree-seeking students; and

    Whereas, As one of only two land-grant institutions in the state, West Virginia State University’s Extension Service serves twenty-nine counties daily. These services aid approximately 15,000 people throughout the year, including 10,000 children through summer food programs; and

    Whereas, As a regional research institution, West Virginia State University contributes significantly to state economic development efforts in the areas of biotechnology, plant, microbial and animal research; and

    Whereas, With every dollar the state invests in West Virginia State University, the University generates nearly $16 spent in the West Virginia economy, resulting in an estimated economic output of $254 million per year; therefore, be it

     Resolved by the House of Delegates:

    That the House of Delegates hereby designates March 19, 2013, as “West Virginia State University Day”; and, be it

    Further Resolved, That the House of Delegates hereby recognizes West Virginia State University for its tremendous contributions to the State of West Virginia; and, be it

    Further Resolved, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates forward a certified copy of this resolution to Dr. Brian O. Hemphill, President of West Virginia State University.

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature *

Print On Demand