West Virginia Legislature's Crime Victims Compensation Fund
In 1981, the West Virginia Legislature enacted legislation (WV Code §14-2A)
creating the crime victims program within the West Virginia Court of Claims, renamed the Legislative Claims Commission by statute in 2017, declaring that "a primary purpose of government is to provide for the safety of citizens and the inviolability of their property." This Act provides for compensation to innocent victims of crime who have suffered personal injury and who have incurred out-of-pocket losses as a result of criminally injurious conduct.
Do You Qualify?
- Have you been a victim of crime in West Virginia?
- Have you suffered a personal injury?
- Did you report the crime to law enforcement officials within 72 hours?
- Did you cooperate with the police?
- Were you an innocent victim?
If you answered YES to all of the above, you can file a claim application within 2 years and may be eligible for an award.
› Eligibility, Benefits, and How to Apply
› Rules of Practice and Procedure
› Statutes Pertaining to Crime Victims Compensation Fund
› Request Application/ Brochure/ Poster
› Crime Victim Application
› Attorney's Fee Voucher
Want to Learn More? Contact Us.
Request free group on-site training from the Crime Victims Compensation Fund.
1900 Kanawha Blvd., E., Rm. W-334
Charleston, WV 25305-0610