Introduced Version House Resolution 31 History

   |  Email

House Resolution 31


  (By Mr. Speaker, Mr. Thompson, and Delegates Morgan, Craig, C. Miller, Reynolds, Sobonya, Stephens, Perdue, Anderson, Armstead, Ashley, Boggs, Border, Butcher, T. Campbell, Caputo, Carmichael, Fragale, Frazier, Givens, Hamilton, Hartman, Hatfield, Martin, Miley, Moore, Moye, Paxton, Perry, L. Phillips, R. Phillips, D. Poling, M. Poling, Rodighiero, Smith, Staggers, Stowers, Sumner, Talbott, Varner, Wells and White)



H. R. 31 – “Designating February 28, 2012 as ‘Marshall University Day’.”

            Whereas, 2012 marks the 175th anniversary of Marshall University, the oldest institution of higher education in West Virginia founded in 1837 as Marshall Academy in honor of Chief Justice John Marshall; and

            Whereas, Marshall University is one of the state’s premier institutions of higher education, and educates more than 14,000 students at campuses in Huntington, Point Pleasant, South Charleston, Beckley, Logan and Gilbert; and

            Whereas, Marshall University offers degrees at the associate, baccalaureate, master’s and doctoral levels; and

            Whereas, A university-record 2,003 new freshmen enrolled at Marshall University in fall 2011; and

            Whereas, At this time of unprecedented growth, Marshall University has begun construction on more than $100 million in new capital projects; and

            Whereas, Marshall University has built a national reputation for research in biotechnology, forensics and medicine; and

            Whereas, 10 new high-demand degree majors or programs have recently been launched or are under development; and

            Whereas, with every dollar the state invests in Marshall University, the University generates nearly $20 spent in the West Virginia economy, resulting in an estimated economic output of $1.5 billion per year; and 

            Whereas, Marshall University is creating new, high-value job opportunities through the Marshall Institute for Interdisciplinary Research as part of West Virginia’s “Bucks for Brains” initiative; and

            Whereas, The Robert C. Byrd Institute for Advanced Flexible Manufacturing serves all 55 state counties providing expertise to manufacturers across West Virginia; and

            Whereas, The Nick J. Rahall, II Appalachian Transportation Institute of Marshall University is setting national standards in transportation; and

            Whereas, Marshall University’s Health Sciences train hundreds of West Virginians to serve as doctors, nurses, therapists and health technicians each year; and

            Whereas, Marshall University graduates number nearly 82,000 across the globe; therefore, be it

            Resolved by the House of Delegates:

            That the House hereby designates February 28, 2012, as “Marshall University Day”; and             Further Resolved, That the House hereby recognizes Marshall University for its tremendous contributions to the State of West Virginia; and, be it

            Further Resolved, That the Clerk forward a copy of this resolution to Stephen J. Kopp, President of Marshall University.

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature **

Print On Demand