Introduced Version Senate Resolution 37 History

   |  Email


(BY Senators Wills, Miller, Kessler (Mr. President), Foster, Browning, Laird, Stollings, Yost, Klempa and Chafin)

Congratulating the Concord University Mountain Lions football team for winning the 2011 WVIAC Championship.

    Whereas, Following an off-season that saw a change in head coach, with Garin Justice taking over, the Mountain Lions began the 2011 campaign with two straight losses, and then bounced back to win three straight games against WVIAC opponents; and

    Whereas, The Mountain Lions stumbled, losing the next game and were faced with the task of winning all its remaining games in order to have a chance at winning the conference; and

    Whereas, The Mountain Lions took off like a rocket ship, winning all four of its remaining games and its first conference title since 1990. In its run to the championship, Concord defeated nationally ranked Shepherd University and West Virginia Wesleyan; and

    Whereas, The Mountain Lions were selected to appear in the NCAA Division Super 11 Region One playoffs for the first time in program history, playing well in the first round match up but falling to its opponent, 17-14; and

    Whereas, Concord University finished the season at 7-4 overall, and 7-1 in the WVIAC; and

    Whereas, The Mountain Lions of Concord University are coached by Concord’s head coach, Garin Justice, who was named WVIAC Coach of the Year; and

    Whereas, The Mountain Lions of Concord University football team consists of: Silas Agyemang, Spenser Jordan, Matt Anderson, Jimmy Keating, Russell Bailey, Brian Kennedy, Rashid Baker, Tyler Kerr, Stephen Baldwin, Jake Lilly, Ray Bell, Andrew Lindner, Justin Bennett, Brandon Link, Tyler Billings, Davon Marion, KC Camp, Aaron Martinez, Corey Campbell, Josh Miller, Mike Carey, Stephen Miller,

Darius Carper, Ervin Moore, Bryan Carr, Sean Myers, Micah Carter, Ben Nester, Josh Clark, Cody Parker, Will Cole, Kane Parson, Dequan Coles, Ethan Perry, Josh Cottle, Nate Pollard, Brad Cox, Tre Preston, Colton Cox, Riyahd Richardson, Aaron Dickey, Gary Roach,

Carlton Downs, Chris Rodriguez, Evin Dusold, Brandon Rogers, Kevin Elliott, Albert Rose, Keith Ferguson, Gary Saylor, Alex Gibson, Kevin Saylor, Andrew Gondor, Luis Serrano, Will Greathouse, Cody Smith, Joe Greenway, Tyler Smith, Zack Grossi, Nick Spradlin, Adam Gum, Ryan Stewart, Mitch Hairston, Zack Thompson, Garrett Hammett, CJ Tullio, Cody Hannah, Kenny Wagstaff, Randall Hawkins, Marcus Walker, Tiko Henderson, Shamel White, Mike Hodeib, Darrick Williams, DJ Holmes, Josh Williams, Cameron Jones, Thomas Wise, Howard Jordan, and Josh Young; and

    Whereas, The Mountain Lions displayed their strong will and determination for an entire season and are a shining example of what can be accomplished through teamwork, dedication, and commitment; and

    Whereas, The efforts and remarkable success of Concord University’s football team, its coaches and players, must not go unnoticed; therefore, be it

    Resolved by the Senate:

    That the Senate hereby congratulates the Concord University Mountain Lions football team for winning the 2011 WVIAC Championship; and, be it

    Further Resolved, That the Clerk is hereby directed to forward a copy of this resolution to the coach and each member of the Concord University Mountain Lions football team.

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature **

Print On Demand