Member's Press Release

Release Date: 06/03/2015
Contact: Senator Mike Hall at (304) 357-7901 and Delegate Eric Nelson at (304) 340-3230

Mike Hall Eric Nelson

Joint Select Committee on Tax Reform to Meet June 9 in Charleston

CHARLESTON – The Joint Select Committee on Tax Reform will meet at 9 a.m. June 9 in the House Government Organization Committee Room (Room 215-E) at the Capitol.

Morning sessions include:

  • Mechanics of Property Taxes – Jeff Amburgey, Director, Property Tax Division, West Virginia State Tax Department; Mark Muchow, Deputy Secretary, West Virginia Department of Revenue
  • Discussion of Municipal Taxes – Lisa Dooley, Executive Director of the West Virginia Municipal League; Huntington Mayor Steve Williams; Wheeling Mayor Andy McKenzie

    Afternoon sessions include:

  • Unleashing Capitalism: A Comprehensive Approach to Tax Reform with a Focus on Capital Investment – Dr. Russ Sobel, The Citadel, Charleston, S.C.
  • Perspectives on County Taxes – Patti Hamilton, Executive Director, West Virginia Association of Counties; Jerry Knight, Property Tax Consultant, West Virginia Association of Counties
  • County Government Tax Concerns – The Honorable Nancy Cartmill, Cabell County Commissioner; The Honorable Jack Woodrum, Summers County Commissioner

    Meeting agendas and presentations are subject to change. Additional information will be posted to the website in the days before the meeting.

    Audio of the Committee meetings will be live streamed at the live streaming page

    All information discussed during the meetings will be posted to the Legislature’s website, which can be found on the committee's web page. Information also can be found on Facebook and via Twitter at @WVTaxReform. The Committee also requested all public comments be e-mailed to

    All Releases

  • This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Email WebmasterWebmaster   |   © 2024 West Virginia Legislature **