Press Releases

President of the Senate and Lt. Governor, Jeff Kessler

Release Date: 01/22/2013

Kessler Announces Leadership Team

Charleston, WV– Senate President Jeff Kessler (D – Marshall) announced today that along with two new members, he is keeping his leadership team and major committee chairs intact.

On his leadership team, Kessler is keeping Senator John Unger (D-Berkeley) as Majority Leader; Senator Bill Laird (D-Fayette) will serve as Majority Whip; and Senator Larry Edgell (D-Wetzel) as President Pro Tempore.

Additionally, Kessler’s major committee chairs have been re-appointed. Those are Senator Corey Palumbo (D-Kanawha) as Judiciary Chairman; Senator Roman Prezioso (D-Marion) as Finance Chairman; Robert Plymale (D-Wayne) as Education Chairman; Senator Herb Snyder (D-Jefferson) as Government Organization Chairman; and Senator Ron Stollings (D-Boone) as Health & Human Resources Chairman.

“The members of my leadership team continue to prove that they are capable and hardworking,” says Kessler. “They have demonstrated their willingness to work with me in any capacity and participate in open and frank discussions to move West Virginia forward.” President Kessler says it’s imperative that the Senate focus its attention on developing sound legislation to ensure West Virginia’s success. “I am confident that given our successes over the past two years, we can continue to work toward building a better future.”

Senator Kessler was re-elected Senate President on January 9, 2013.

Main | Biography | Press Releases | Columns
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature **