Judith A. Herndon Fellowship

Undergraduates are selected to participate in the 60-day session as Herndon Fellows and are assigned to assist a sole legislator from either the Senate of the House of Delegates.

The interns are required to perform research and various staff functions. Among other job-related responsibilities, participants are introduced to and develop an understanding of the politics of legislation, legislative research, bill drafting, the role and function of committees and the executive-legislative liaison.


Number of positions:10


Herndon Fellowship Application


Casey Long/Adair Burgess-Sankoff
West Virginia State Senate
Legislative Internship Committee
Building 1, Room 227M
State Capitol Complex
Charleston, West Virginia 25305
phone: (304) 357-7952


Alderson Broaddus University
Kari L. Sisk, Assistant Professor of Psychology and Dean of College of Humanities and Social Sciences
101 College Hill Drive Philippi, WV 26416

Bethany College
Kayce Mobley, Assistant Professor of Political Science and Chair of Department of History & Political Science
31 E Campus Dr Bethany, WV 26032

Bluefield State College
Dr. Colin Cavell, Associate Professor of Political Science
219 Rock St. Basic Science Building- B120 Bluefield, WV 24701

Blue Ridge Community and Technical College
Dr. Holley Ralston, Instructor and Social Sciences Program Coordinator
13650 Apple Harvest Dr.
Martinsburg, WV 25403
(304)260-4380 Ext. 2322

University of Charleston
Kara Fisher, PhD
(304) 357-4916

Concord University
Dr. Sally Campbell
Marsh Hall, Room A116 Concord University Athens, WV 24712-1000

Davis & Elkins College
David Turner, Chair Division of Humanities
100 Campus Drive Elkins, WV 26241

Fairmont State University
Jeri Kirby
110 Hardway Hall Fairmont, WV 26554

Glenville State College
Dr. Marisha Lecea, Assistant Professor of Political Science
235 Louis Bennett Hall Glenville, WV 26351

Marshall University
Dr. Mary Beth Beller
Department of Political Science, Smith Hall
738 Marshall University One John Marshall Drive Huntington, WV 25755

Ohio Valley University
Wes Crum, Dean of Faculty, School of Behavioral Science
1 Campus View Drive Vienna, WV 26105

Potomac State College of WVU
Cassandra Pritts
101 Fort Ave Keyser, WV 26726

Nicklaus Goff
101 Fort Ave Keyser, WV 26726

Shepherd University
Stephanie A. Slocum-Schaffer, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Political Science, Global Studies & Geography
Co-Coordinator, Gender and Women's Studies

West Liberty University
Dr. Keith Bell, Interim Department Chair
101 Faculty Dr Wheeling, WV 26003

West Virginia State University
Dr. Michael Pennington
Associate Professor, Chair of History & Political Science, MPA Director
120 Hill Hall, Institute, WV 25112

West Virginia University
Dr. Jason MacDonald
Room 315D, Woodburn Hall Morgantown, WV 26506

West Virginia University of Parkersburg
Chad Crumbaker
Executive Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs
Chief Academic and Student Affairs Officer
300 Campus Drive Room 1211 Parkersburg, WV 26104

West Virginia Institute of Technology
Mr. Thomas McGraw, Chair
Department of Social Sciences and Public Administration

West Virginia Wesleyan College
Dr. Robert Rupp
59 College Avenue Buckhannon, WV 26201

Wheeling University
John L'Ecuyer, Coordinator, Career Services
316 Washington Ave Wheeling, WV 26003


Walter Rollins Scholars & Robert W. Burk Jr. Interns
Judith A. Herndon Fellowship
Frasure-Singleton Internship
Legislative Information Journalism Internship
Internship Introduction

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2022 West Virginia Legislature **