Member's Press Release

Release Date: 01/19/2010
Contact: Delegate McGeehan @ (304) 904-2779

Delegate Pat McGeehan

Delegate Pat McGeehan to Hold Economic Summit

CHARLESTON, WEST VIRGINIA – Delegate Pat McGeehan will hold an economic summit on Wednesday, January 20, 2010 in the chamber of the House of Delegates to draw attention to the differences between this Administration’s hired policy advisors versus these economic thinkers outside government service. People around the Capitol are calling McGeehan’s summit “the second opinion hearing”, as four economists from West Virginia University will present our state’s economic outlook and give policy recommendations that differ from what the current leadership has presented. Dr. Russ Sobel, the keynote speaker -- and editor of Unleashing Capitalism: Why Prosperity Stops at the West Virginia Border and How to Fix It – will discuss the changes West Virginia needs to make to attract jobs and investment. These economists will also address how government stimulus money is not creating jobs and how it is actually prolonging the current recession.

“I think it is vital for us as lawmakers to understand sound market economics and to study what we as policy makers can be doing to attract investment into our state. Despite popular opinion, government stimulus programs have never worked. This is an opportunity for other lawmakers to understand the harm our government causes by inflating our money supply and pushing us farther into debt. It is also a chance to see how spending more and more government money in West Virginia will actually push us farther into poverty. I hope other lawmakers will pay attention and keep an open mind.”

The summit will begin at 1:00 p.m in the House of Delegates Chamber.

For more information, please contact Delegate Pat McGeehan at (304) 904-2779 or

# # #

Senate News Releases | House News Releases

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature **