Member's Press Release

Release Date: 06/23/2011
Contact: Delegate Tim Manchin 304-367-1862 or 304-290-4616

Delegate Tim Manchin

House Members of Select Committee on Marcellus Shale Appointed

CHARLESTON – House Speaker Rick Thompson has appointed five House members to serve on the Legislature’s Select Committee on Marcellus Shale, and designated Marion County Delegate Tim Manchin as chairman.

“Both the House and Senate made significant progress on legislation earlier this year, but the issue proved too complex to finalize during a session that involved around 1,800 other pieces of legislation,” Speaker Thompson said. “I know the House has been very deliberative in working on guidelines for the relationship between oil and gas extractors and the owners of surface rights and mineral interests that protects the environment and ensures proper labor practices.

“This Select Committee will continue that effort in preparation for a special session.”

As co-chair of the Joint Oversight Commission on State Water Resources and a member of the House Finance Committee, Delegate Manchin brings insight on both the regulatory and economic development fronts.

“Marcellus Shale development carries tremendous economic potential for West Virginia, and fair and proper oversight is essential to ensure it is successful,” Manchin said. “This committee will work very hard to help make that a reality.”

Other House members of the Select Committee are Delegates: Barbara Fleischauer, D-Monongalia; Tom Campbell, D-Greenbrier; Woody Ireland, R-Ritchie; and Bill Anderson, R-Wood.

Senate News Releases | House News Releases

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2018 West Virginia Legislature ***