Capitol Building Commission Members


› The Early Capitol Locations
› Planning the Capitol Complex
› West Virginia Executive Mansion
› Building the Capitol: Part 1
› Building the Capitol: Part 2
› Building the Capitol: Part 3
› The Architect's Description
› Biographical Sketch of the Architect
› Capitol Building Commission Members
› The West Virginia Capitol: Project of Five Governors
› Mythological Figures in the Carved Heads
› Summary of Facts Concerning the Capitol
› Glossary of Architectural Terms Used
› Bibliography and Photographic Credits

Capitol Building Commission with Governor Conley (fourth from right) and architect Cass Gilbert (sixth from right) - January 1932

Original commissioners (1921-1925)

  • Governor Ephraim F. Morgan
  • Gohen C. Arnold (President of the Senate 1921-1923) from Buckhannon Edwin M.
  • Keatley (Speaker of the House of Delegates 1921-1922) from Charleston
  • William McKell from Glen Jean
  • Herbert Fitzpatrick from Huntington
  • Fred M. Staunton from Charleston
  • N. Price Whitaker from Wheeling
  • Houston G. Young (Secretary of State 1921-1925) from Charleston

    (McKell resigned in 1922 and was replaced by Harry P. Camden & Parkersburg; Whitaker died in 1922 and was replaced by Virgil L. Highland from Clarksburg; Highland resigned in 1923 and was replaced by George A. Laughlin from Wheeling; Young resigned position of secretary to the commission in 1923 and Bonner Hill of Charleston was appointed)

    Commission under the Gore administration (1925-1929)

    Governor Howard M. Gore Retained:
  • Arnold
  • Camden
  • Fitzpatrick
  • Staunton
  • Keatley
  • Laughlin

    (Camden died in 1925 and was replaced by former governor Wiliam A. MacCorkle from Charleston; Staunton died in 1926 and was replaced by Mrs. J. T. (Daisy M.) Peadro from Parkersburg)

    Commission under the Conley administration (1929-1932)

    Governor William G. Conley Retained:
  • Arnold
  • Peadro
  • MacCorkle
  • Keatley
  • Fitzpatrick
  • Laughlin


  • M. Z. White (President of the Senate 1925-1933) from Williamson
  • J. William Cummins (Speaker of the House of Delegates 1929-1932) from Wheeling Boyd Jarrell from Huntington
  • C. W. Dillon from Fayetteville

    (MacCorkle died in 1930 and was replaced by Charles K. Payne from Charleston)

    « previous | next »
  • This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Email WebmasterWebmaster   |   © 2023 West Virginia Legislature **